Lower Colorado Regional Water Planning Group Nominating Committee Meeting AECOM, Barton Springs Conference Room November 30, 2018

1. Ann McElroy called meeting to order at 11:02 a.m.

Attendees (7)
Ann McElroy – Region K, Environmental Rep
Barbara Johnson – Region K, Industries Rep
Jim Brasher – Region K, GMA-15 Rep
Karen Haschke – Region K, Public Rep
Teresa Lutes – Region K, Municipalities Rep
Sarah Hoes – Austin Water
Alicia Smiley – AECOM

2. Public Comments

- a. None.
- 3. Review By-Law Requirements for Election of New Executive Committee
 - a. The officers of the Executive Committee are the Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary. An officer serves a term of one calendar year. There are no restrictions on the number of consecutive terms an individual may serve as an officer.
 - b. The three members-at-large are selected for one-year terms, but may not serve consecutive terms.
 - c. No two voting members representing the same interest shall serve as members of the Executive Committee at the same time.
 - d. The Executive Committee and other voting members shall strive to achieve geographic, ethnic, and gender diversity.
- 4. Consider candidates for Officers (Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary)
 - a. All current officers have agreed to serve another term.
 - b. Barbara Johnson moved to recommend John Burke as Chair, David Wheelock as Vice Chair, and Teresa Lutes as Secretary. Jim Brasher seconded. Committee passed.
- 5. Consider candidates for three at-large vacancies
 - All persons listed were contacted and agreed to be considered to be member at-large.
 Going over the list, the committee worked to avoid conflicts in interest representation and counties.
 - b. Karen Haschke moved to recommend Daniel Berglund, James Sultemeier, and Paul Tybor as the at-large members. Jim Brasher seconded. Committee passed.

- 6. Create slate for consideration and possible approval at the January meeting of the LCRWPG
 - a. John Burke, Chair Bastrop County, Water Utilities
 - b. David Wheelock, Vice Chair Travis County, River Authority
 - c. Teresa Lutes, Secretary Travis County, Municipalities
 - d. Daniel Berglund, Member-at-Large Wharton County, Small Business
 - e. James Sultemeier, Member-at-Large Blanco County, Counties
 - f. Paul Tybor, Member-at-Large Gillespie County, Groundwater Management Area 7

7. Public Comments

- a. Ann McElroy recommends group members interact more personally in order to work together, since groups coordinate better when there is a personal connection. Barbara Johnson agreed, recommending exercises and get-to-know activities during break times. Teresa Lutes recommended activities should be folded into the Region meetings based on meeting location, like the rice tour 8-10 years ago. Committee discussed practices and agreed to spend future time on these interactions.
- b. The RWPG needs a new chair for the Bylaws Committee.
- 8. Barbara Johnson motioned to adjourn at 11:44 a.m. Karen Haschke seconded. Committee adjourned.